Thankyouf.fun redirect removal
Thankyouf.fun is a scam website pushing a social-engineering scam that will try to trick you into allowing ads on your desktop. When you get redirected to the site, an alert will appear saying “Thankyouf.fun wants to show notifications”. If you press “Allow”, the site will start spamming you with ads on your desktop.
Sites like Thankyouf.fun are misusing a legitimate browser feature that allows sites that get permission to show notifications on their desktop. Many legitimate sites use this feature and users can certainly benefit from it. For example, if you frequent a legitimate news website and wish to see news alerts on your desktop, you can give it permission to show notifications. When you click on the notification, you would be taken directly to the news article. When you no longer want to see notifications, you can revoke the permission.
But when it comes to scam websites like Thankyouf.fun, notifications mean ads on your desktop. You will be spammed with them if you allow Thankyouf.fun to show notifications. The site itself is quite questionable so you can imagine that the ads will be the same if not worse. If you get tricked by the site and agree to see its notifications, be very careful about which notifications you click on. You may be shown advertisements that resemble legitimate system notifications, only they would lead you to potentially dangerous websites that may have malware or promote various scams. It’s best to revoke that permission as soon as possible. If you do not know how to do that, directions will be provided in the very last section.
The first course of action when random redirects start happening is to scan the computer with anti-virus software such as WiperSoft. If adware is what’s causing you to get redirected, the anti-virus program would detect and get rid of it for you. If it’s not adware, then you should install an adblocker program.
Why are you’re redirected to Thankyouf.fun
If you’re redirected when browsing certain high-risk websites, install adblocker. Many websites, such as those that have pornography or pirated content, often have questionable ads and can trigger redirects. Visiting them without a reliable adblocker is not a good idea.
If you’re redirected regularly out of nowhere, you are likely dealing with adware. Adware is a pretty minor infection that usually installs via software bundling, a method that allows programs to install unnoticed to users. Adware, browser hijackers, and potentially unwanted programs often come attached to free software as extra offers, and unless they’re manually deselected, they will install alongside. If you want to prevent their installation, pay attention when installing freeware. Most importantly, choose Advanced (Custom) settings when given the option. Those settings will allow you to view everything that has been added and deselect the offers you do not want.
It’s not recommended to allow any of the added offers to install, mostly because software bundling is a rather sneaky installation method and programs that use it essentially sneak in without explicit permission. If you allow all offers that come attached to freeware to install, your computer will be filled with all kinds of junk programs that are difficult to get rid of.
Thankyouf.fun ads removal
If you got redirected when browsing a questionable website, there is no need to worry about adware, as the redirect was likely caused by the site. Install an adblocker program, and that should be enough to stop any future redirects.
However, if you are constantly redirected without explanation, your computer could be infected with adware. The easiest way to find out whether that is indeed the case would be to scan your computer with anti-virus software, such as WiperSoft. The security program would remove Thankyouf.fun adware, stopping the redirects.
Finally, if you have granted the site permission to show you notifications, you need to delete Thankyouf.fun from the list. It’s fortunately not difficult to do, but if you’re having difficulty you can use the below provided directions.
- For Mozilla Firefox: Open menu (the three bars top-right corner) -> Options -> Privacy & Security. Scroll down to Permissions, press on Settings next to Notifications, and remove Thankyouf.fun. You can permanently turn off these notification requests by checking the “Block new requests asking to allow notifications” box in the same Notifications settings.
- For Google Chrome: Open menu (the three dots top-right corner) -> Settings -> Privacy and security -> Site Settings. Click on Notifications under Permissions, and remove Thankyouf.fun. You can stop these notification requests permanently by toggling off “Sites can ask to send notifications”.
WiperSoft.com is not sponsored, affiliated, linked to or owned by malware developers or distributors that are referred to in this article. The article does NOT endorse or promote malicious programs. The intention behind it is to present useful information that will help users to detect and eliminate malware from their computer by using WiperSoft and/or the manual removal guide.
The article should only be used for educational purposes. If you follow the instructions provided in the article, you agree to be bound by this disclaimer. We do not guarantee that the article will aid you in completely removing the malware from your PC. Malicious programs are constantly developing, which is why it is not always easy or possible to clean the computer by using only the manual removal guide.
Leave a comment