What is Google Chrome Critical Error scam

What is Google Chrome Critical Error scam

Google Chrome Critical Error scam is a tech-support scam that tries to trick users into calling fake support numbers. Scammers push unnecessary services and demand users pay hundreds of dollars for services they did not even receive. It’s a very common scam that you can encounter when browsing high-risk websites or if adware is installed on your computer. The scam itself is harmless as long you don’t interact with it. You can simply close the pop-up window and continue as normal. Though if the pop-ups are shown by adware, you will need to get rid of it to remove¬†Google Chrome Critical Error scam from your screen permanently.

 

 

What is Google Chrome Critical Error scam?

“Security system has detected the threatening attempt to gain access to your bank logins and related data but this dangerous connection was blocked with Firewall and further data leak was prevented,” is the message displayed in this tech-support scam. The tech-support scam follows the same pattern seen in most other scams of this type. Users are first redirected to questionable sites (either by adware or by high-risk websites) and then shown an alarming pop-up alert that claims there’s something seriously wrong with their computers.

Usually, users are redirected to fake Microsoft or Apple sites but in this case, there’s only a red background and the alert. The alert warns you that your sensitive information may be stolen by malicious actors and that you need to take action. The suggested action by this fake alert is to call the displayed number in order to get help from Microsoft technicians. If you were to call, you would be connected to professional scammers pretending to be legitimate technicians. They would request remote access to your computer in order to “fix” it, put on a show of doing something, and then demand hundreds of dollars for the supposed repair services you received. While they have remote access to your device, they may steal your files and/or password-lock the computer. If you refuse to pay, the scammers can get quite persistent. They may also refuse to give you the password.

If it hasn’t been made clear yet, there is nothing wrong with your computer and you certainly do not need to call anyone. For future reference, keep in mind that your browser will never display legitimate virus alerts because it’s not capable of detecting anything on your computer. Only trust your anti-virus software to show you legitimate malware alerts. Furthermore, legitimate alerts will never display phone numbers, and companies like Microsoft will not make unsolicited contact.

Do not worry if you come across this tech-support scam while browsing. You can simply close the pop-up window. Install an adblocker program and scan your computer with anti-virus software in case an adware infection is what’s causing the redirects.

Why are you being redirected to tech-support scams?

There are a couple of reasons why you may be redirected to tech-support scams. Most commonly, it happens because users browse high-risk websites without adblocker programs. Certain websites are considered to be high-risk because of the ads they host. For example, if you visit sites that have pornography or pirated content, you will be bombarded with intrusive ads and be redirected to questionable websites. A reliable adblocker program should be able to block the ads and redirects.

If you are redirected more regularly, even when browsing safe sites, your computer may be infected with adware. It’s, fortunately, not a serious infection, more an annoyance than anything serious. However, it’s not something you should have installed because not only will you be exposed to annoying ads, you could also encounter scams and malicious content. Adware infections install via free software bundling, a method that essentially allows unwanted programs to install without permission. This is why the method is commonly used by developers of adware, browser hijackers, and potentially unwanted programs.

The mentioned infections come attached to free software as extra offers. These offers are permitted to install alongside automatically without requiring any additional permission. However, these offers are optional so it’s possible to install freeware without them. But because the offers are hidden, and users don’t pay enough attention, the offers are usually installed accidentally. If you want to prevent unwanted installations, you will need to pay attention when installing free software. Most importantly, you need to opt for Advanced (Custom) settings when given the option. The installation window will recommend using Default settings but keep in mind that those settings will hide the added offers and allow them to install. However, Advanced settings will make all offers visible, and you will be able to deselect all of them.

It’s recommended to always deselect the added offers because none of them will be useful to you. By allowing their installations, you will only fill your computer with junk programs that can be difficult to get rid of later on. It’s much easier to prevent the installations by unchecking a couple of boxes than it is trying to get rid of them once installed.

Google Chrome Critical Error scam removal

As we’ve already said, the pop-ups are harmless if you don’t interact with them. You can simply close the pop-up window. To prevent them from appearing in the future, especially when browsing high-risk websites, you should install an adblocker program. Not only would it stop the pop-ups and redirects, but also other intrusive advertisements that may spam you as you browse.

If the pop-ups are caused by an adware infection, you will need to get rid of it to delete¬†Google Chrome Critical Error scam from your screen permanently. Adware can be a pretty persistent infection so it’s easiest to use anti-virus software like WiperSoft to get rid of it. Once the adware is fully gone, the redirects to tech-support scams should stop.

If you engaged with the scam, called the tech-support scammers, and sent them money, you should try contacting your bank to check whether it’s possible to get your money back. But while it’s worth a shot, it’s not very likely.

Site Disclaimer

WiperSoft.com is not sponsored, affiliated, linked to or owned by malware developers or distributors that are referred to in this article. The article does NOT endorse or promote malicious programs. The intention behind it is to present useful information that will help users to detect and eliminate malware from their computer by using WiperSoft and/or the manual removal guide.

The article should only be used for educational purposes. If you follow the instructions provided in the article, you agree to be bound by this disclaimer. We do not guarantee that the article will aid you in completely removing the malware from your PC. Malicious programs are constantly developing, which is why it is not always easy or possible to clean the computer by using only the manual removal guide.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.